All Enquiries (including emergencies) 0800 011 3447
Rent – Have Your Say Changes to Your Tenancy Rights Privacy Policy Customer Satisfaction Surveys Customer Service Commitments Customer Service Health and Safety in Your Home Performance Volunteer Opportunities Rent and Benefits Voting Volunteering Veterans TV Licence Supported Housing National Insurance Money Advice Motability scheme Mail Redirection Libraries Joint Service Housing Home Insurance Household Bills Housing Homeless Service Furniture Funding and Grants Freecycle Employment Electoral Registration Education Driving License Health Council Tax Community Transport Citizens Advice Civvy Street Charities Carer Support Cadet Forces Budgeting Blue Badges Bin Collection Benefits Advice Antisocial Behavior Aids and adaptations Affordable Housing Scheme New Tenants Help Downloads Performance Contract opportunities Self service portal Right to repair Planned repairs Neighbourhood management Antisocial behaviour Rent first Novantie – About How to apply Recruitment New Supply Shared Equity Armed Forces Policy Homelessness Applying for Housing Current consultations Complaints guidance Surveys Complaints Compliments & Suggestions Garages Commercial properties to let Available homes to let Taking in a lodger? Disability Living Allowance Benefit Cap Universal Credit Council Tax Benefit Housing Benefit Changes What is Welfare Reform? Welfare reform SHQS Aids and Adaptations Wider Action Factoring Development Regeneration Investment Home Contents Insurance Supported housing Community Participation – Getting Involved with DGHP Rent arrears Housing benefit Paying your rent Rents Exchanges Ending your tenancy Applying for housing Property letting Our contractors Annual servicing Who repairs what? Repairs Tenant Services Mid-market rent Locations Buy a new home Available Properties Tenant census Have Your Say New Customers Join DGHP Business Plan Our DMCs Our management team Our Board What we do Neighbourhood Managers Find My Officer Repairs Contact DGHP Board & DMC Members Latest News Services About DGHP Home
Board Members

Grierson House
The Crichton
Bankend Road
Dumfries, DG1 4ZS

0800 011 3447
(Freephone for all enquiries, including emergencies)
0345 606 3447 (Network rate)
01387 242 509 (Fax)

Our Board

The Board of Dumfries and Galloway Housing Partnership (DGHP) is made up of a mixture of tenants and independent members from across Dumfries and Galloway.

Our Board is very active in all work undertaken by DGHP, often out and about at events ranging from the handover of new homes to presentations of money to local groups and organisations.

Our Board’s main responsibilities:

  • To provide leadership to DGHP and decide its strategy
  • To exercise control over DGHP’s affairs and make sure it meets all of its legal and other obligations
  • To ensure that DGHP achieves its overall purpose on behalf of tenants, other service users and the wider community

We recruit new Board members annually – for more information on how to get involved, contact the Customer Service Centre on 0800 011 3447.


Robert Higgins (Chair) - independent member

Robert was involved with DGHP at the transfer of stock from the council and has a number of years of experience with the company. He has been a local councillor for 20 years and is interested in making DGHP homes the very best they can be.

Robert lives in Stranraer and spends his spare time at Wigtownshire County Golf Club or with his grandchildren.

Robert was elected vice-chair in October 2016 and was elected as the 2017/2018 chair in October 2017.

Bill Robertson (Vice-chair) - tenant member

Tenant member, Bill, is from New Abbey and spent much of his career working as an engineer in central and northern Scotland. He has been involved in local housing for the past 20 years in various locations. Bill joined the Board in September 2013 having previously served on the Nithsdale DMC.

Bill has always had a keen interest in the welfare of people and he is keen to take this interest one step further with the DGHP Board. He was elected vice-chair for 2017/2018 in October 2017.

Maureen Dowden (co-optee)

Heather Macnaughton (co-optee)

Annie Murray - tenant member

Annie joined the Board in September 2015 and was re-elected in 2017. She has previously served on the Wigtown District Management Committee, of which she was also chair.

Annie lives in Port William and enjoys spending time with her grandchildren in her spare time.

Elaine Tyler - tenant member

Elaine Tyler, from Dumfries, was elected as a board member in September 2017.  Elaine is highly involved in several community groups in and around Lochside and Lincluden.

David McMillan - independent member

David was born in Drummore and has spent his working life in this region. He spent 25 years with Dumfries and Galloway Constabulary, retiring in 1991 as Detective Inspector.

Since his retirement he has been involved in voluntary work with the Scottish Health Council, he is currently a Justice of the Peace and, for the last seven years, he has been Chairman of the Children’s Panel. David, who lives in Stranraer, has served as Chair of DGHP’s Audit committee for four years. He is married with one son and two grandchildren.

David has previously served as Vice-Chair of DGHP and was re-elected as Chairman of the Board in October 2016. David stood down as chairman in September 2017 after five years.

John Henderson - independent member

John Henderson joined DGHP’s Board in September 2018.

Fred Murray - independent member

Fred is a well know figure in the West of the region and has been an avid supporter of DGHP since its inception back in 2003.

Having retired from local government, Fred has been on DGHP’s Board for three years. Fred, who lives in Glenluce, is also Chair of his local community council and has also been involved with local issues for most of his life.

George McBurnie - independent member

George was a chartered civil engineer for 40 years and, before retiring, held the position of operations manager with the then West of Scotland Water.

As a former local authority elected member for many years, George campaigned relentlessly for the regeneration of North West Dumfries.

Michael Greaves Mackintosh - tenant member

Michael Greaves Mackintosh, from Eaglesfield, was elected as a board member in September 2017.

Robert Carnochan - tenant member

Robert joined the Board in September 2016. He lives in Eaglesfield and has previously served on the Annandale and Eskdale District Management Committee.

Robert enjoys getting together with other tenants and walking his dog.

Rose Gowan - tenant member

Rose Gowan, from Glenluce, was elected as a tenant board member in September 2017. Rose has been involved with DGHP for many years going back as far as the transfer.

Rose has also been a District Management Committee member for many years and has been part of many working groups including the Open Door group.

This site uses cookies. Read our privacy policy